Teaching my mother how to give birth – Warsan Shire

What elevates ‘teaching my mother how to give birth’, what gives the poems their disturbing brilliance, is Warsan Shire’s ability to give simple, beautiful eloquence to the veiled world where sensuality lives in the dominant narrative of Islam; reclaiming the more nuanced truths of earlier times – as in Tayeb Salih’s work – and translating to the realm of lyric the work of the likes of Nawal El Saadawi. As Rumi said, Love will find its way through all languages on its own ; in ‘teaching my mother how to give birth’, Warsan’s debut pamphlet, we witness the unearthing of a poet who finds her way through all preconceptions to strike the heart directly. Warsan Shire is a Kenyan-born Somali poet and writer who is based in London. Born in 1988, she is an artist and activist who uses her work to document narratives of journey and trauma. Warsan has read her work internationally, including recent readings in South Africa, Italy and Germany, and her poetry has been translated into Italian, Spanish and Portuguese.

Op dit blog deel ik mijn mening over boeken en soms kan dat heel negatief zijn. Vaak komt het niet zo ver, want ik lees vrijwel nooit boeken uit als ik er geen plezier in heb. Het is verder ook niet mijn bedoeling om schrijvers de grond in te boren. Ik deel gewoon wat ik van hun werk vind en soms kan dat best negatief zijn.  En dat is ook mijn mening over deze gedichten.
Zo jammer, het deed me precies denken aan ‘questions for Ada’. Beide gedichtenbundels zijn geschreven door jonge, donkere vrouwen die wonen in het westen en hun gevoelens als immigrant/vluchteling proberen te uiten in hun gedichten. Klink heel erg mooi toch? Maar wat ze helaas gemeen hebben is dat hun gedichten (naar mijn mening) hierin volledig mislukken.

Ze proberen hele moeilijke onderwerpen te bespreken op een directe, letterlijke manier van schrijven. Ze schrijven minimalistisch, weinig woorden, korte zinnen. Wat ze er mee willen bereiken is denk ik dat het rauw overkomt en je meteen raakt, zonder dat je erbij hoeft na te denken. Dit kán heel goed uitpakken als je het juist doet, maar het resultaat bij deze gedichten is dat ze juist oppervlakkig lezen. Sommige gedichten waren zo slecht en leeg dat ik me ongemakkelijk voelde tijdens het lezen

De onderwerpen van haar gedichten zijn: oorlog, vluchten en je plek vinden in een nieuw land, zelfmoord, eetstoornissen, verkrachting, mishandeling. Allemaal hele verdrietige en zware onderwerpen dus. Nu wil ik niet zeggen dat je deze onderwerpen niet moet bespreken door middel van kunst, want ik zou juist graag willen dat het meer gedaan werd. De taboe die er op ligt moet verbreken worden. En ik vind ook niet dat je per se op een ‘hoog niveau’, ingewikkeld of heel diep moet schrijven als je het over zulke onderwerpen hebt.

Maar ik vind wel dat je enigszins moet weten waar je het over hebt, voordat je schrijft over zulke onderwerpen. De gedichten over oorlog waren de gedichten die nog het ‘mooist’ waren. Het was duidelijk dat hier haar hart écht ligt. Maar bij de rest van de onderwerpen voelden haar gedichten ergens zelfs respectloos om te lezen. Respectloos in de zin dat ze het onderwerp zomaar gebruikt in haar gedichten zonder enig idee te hebben hoe ze dit moet doen. Zo worden deze onderwerpen bijna weggezet als simpel en oppervlakkig. Een voorbeeld hieronder ter verduidelijking:

I find a girl the height of a small wail
living in our spare room. She looks the way I did when I was fifteen
full of pulp and pepper.
She spends all day up in the room
measuring her thighs.

Her body is one long sigh.
You notice her in the hallway.
Later that night while we lay beside one another
listening to her throw up in our bathroom,
you tell me you want to save her.

Of course you do;
This is what she does best:
makes you sick with the need
to help.

We have the same lips,
she and I,
the kind men think about
when they are with their wives.

She is starving.
You look straight at me when she tells us
how her father likes to punch girls
in the face.

I can hear you in our spare room with her.

What is she hungry for?
What can you fill her up with?
What can you do, that you would not do for me?
I count my ribs before I go to sleep.

Nu ken ik haar niet persoonlijk, maar het kwam dus bij mij over alsof ze in haar gedichtenbundel zomaar over bijvoorbeeld zelfmoord of verkrachting wilde schrijven, óm erover te schrijven en niet omdat ze hier haar gevoel in kwijt wilde, het zelf heeft meegemaakt of dichtbij heeft meegemaakt of überhaupt er wat over te zeggen heeft.

Ik stoorde me ook een gedicht waar ze de combinatie Russen en drank gebruikt. Hier het stukje waar ik het over heb:

‘My father was a drunk. Het married my mother
the month he came back from Russia
with wiskey in his blood.

Ik neem aan dat ze het ook niet fijn had gevonden als iemand anders iets vergelijkbaars over Somaliërs (haar achtergrond) zou zeggen en aangezien vooroordelen over achtergronden wel een thema is in haar gedichten is snap ik al helemaal niet hoe ze dit dan wel even over een ander land zegt.

Verder heb ik niet zoveel te zeggen over dit gedichtenbundel, er valt ook niet zoveel over te zeggen zonder in de herhaling te vallen vind ik. Om deze negatieve post nog te eindigen met iets positiefs, onderstaande is de enige ‘gedicht’ (want eigenlijk vind ik dit niet echt een gedicht, maar meer een kort tekstje) uit de bundel die ik wel enigszins oké vond.

Conversations About Home
(at the Deportation Centre)

Well, I think home spat me out, the blackouts and curfews like tongue against loose tooth. God, do you know how difficult it is, to talk about the day your own city dragged you by the hair, past the old prison, past the school gates, past the burning torsos erected on poles like flags? When I meet others like me I recognise the longing, the missing, the memory of ash on their faces. No one leaves home unless home is the mouth of a shark. I’ve been carrying the old anthem in my mouth for so long that there’s no space for another song, another tongue or another language. I know a shame that shrouds, totally engulfs. I tore up and ate my own passport in an airport hotel. I’m bloated with language I can’t afford to forget.

*
They ask me how did you get here? Can’t you see it on my body? The Libyan desert red with immigrant bodies, the Gulf of Aden bloated, the city of Rome with no jacket. I hope the journey meant more than miles because all of my children are in the water. I thought the sea was safer than the land. I want to make love, but my hair smells of war and running and running. I want to lay down, but these countries are like uncles who touch you when you’re young and asleep. Look at all these borders, foaming at the mouth with bodies broken and desperate. I’m the colour of hot sun on the face, my mother’s remains were never buried. I spent days and nights in the stomach of the truck; I did not come out the same. Sometimes it feels like someone else is wearing my body.

*
I know a few things to be true. I do not know where I am going, where I have come from is disappearing, I am unwelcome and my beauty is not beauty here. My body is burning with the shame of not belonging, my body is longing. I am the sin of memory and the absence of memory. I watch the news and my mouth becomes a sink full of blood. The lines, the forms, the people at the desks, the calling cards, the immigration officer, the looks on the street, the cold settling deep into my bones, the English classes at night, the distance I am from home. But Alhamdulilah all of this is better than the scent of a woman completely on fire, or a truckload of men who look like my father, pulling out my teeth and nails, or fourteen men between my legs, or a gun, or a promise, or a lie, or his name, or his manhood in my mouth.

*
I hear them say go home, I hear them say fucking immigrants, fucking refugees. Are they really this arrogant? Do they not know that stability is like a lover with a sweet mouth upon your body one second; he next you are a tremor lying on the floor covered in rubble and old currency waiting for its return. All I can say is, I was once like you, the apathy, the pity, the ungrateful placement and now my home is the mouth of a shark, now my home is the barrel of a gun. I’ll see you on the other side.


Reacties

Plaats een reactie